Looks Hot Right Now

Don’t Forget About Moschino

I don’t usually think of Moschino when I think of fashion, runway shows, and clothes I envy. It’s not as if I actively try to forget the brand, it’s just that it seems to fly under the radar. I only recently remembered the brand after I was browsing a shoe shop in Paris with a friend. I asked her if the espadrilles called “Love Moschino” were the same brand. Apparently, they are. And they were cute.

Then, I started looking at pictures and highlights from their 2017 Resort Wear show. The show was a much more toned down version of their 2016 Spring/Summer Ready to Wear show and its loud, wild prints. 2017 Resort wear was still as zany as the RTW show, but seemed more likely to be worn in public than just admired on the runway. While the show was eclectic–where last season was like a 1990s rave crossed over into the 1950s elegance–this show seems to resemble the 60s and 70s, but on a much more intense and longer acid trip. If the colors weren’t loud enough, the prints are. Did I mention how the prints are not just existing alone? No. On one piece worn by Jordan Barrett, I counted five patterns, including the accessories. My eye doesn’t even know where to focus. It just sees the outfit screaming “NOTICE ME!”. Don’t worry, I am.

From Vogue.com: “I just wanted to make something fun,” Scott said backstage before the show, “something a little theatrical, something colorful, and upbeat, and bright, that my SoulCycle instructor, and neighbors, and the pop stars who I adore, who are also my neighbors, could come and see together.”

To put in the simplest of terms, it was really entertaining, and a little weird. Fashion is weird, though. The clothes are usually made with the intention they will never be worn; they are made as  a way to show the designer’s creative mind. It was something I wouldn’t expect to see on clothing in this millenium, but fashion constantly repeats itself with an improved version that appeals to a new age of fashion lovers.

Contrary to my usual preferences, I really enjoyed the in-your-face mood I got from the clothes. Would I ever wear them? Eh, maybe not, but I can definitely enjoy them from afar (or on a catwalk). They are certainly distracting, but maybe that’s the intention. The whole collection reminded me of Brittany Murphy’s character in Uptown Girls and I’m convinced she designed all of these clothes…


A wild Miranda Kerr appears to open the show. It’s great to see her on the catwalk! I feel like she hasn’t done much fashion modeling, but being the face of brands like Swarovski or her face care brand, KORA Organics. It’s like 2010 all over again. Hiiiii Miranda. By the way, she looks great. I love her confidence. It was a great way to remind the world that Moschino shouldn’t be forgotten.

MirandaKMoschino.jpg
Look No.1

 

Miranda looks amazing, let’s be real. That outfit is a stunner and definitely one of the pieces from this collection I’d wear. It’s a great choice that this outfit is the opener. The rounded bust with the wide shoulders jacket plays with lines and shapes without appearing to make the body look shapeless. Also, the embroidery and texture of the clothing makes it look edgy and playful. Good choice, Moschino.

 

 

 

MoschinoStellaM.jpg
Look No. 3

 

Last show, Stella wore an awful blonde wig complete with a neon yellow/green skirt suit. I was happy to see she wore something much more flattering, but also kind of sexy! Sorry Stella, but the firefighter chic they had you in last time made me confused if you were needing to rescue a cat out of a tree or be at a business meeting for 9:30 a.m. This outfit is FUN! I like how it covers the body, minus the stomach, giving just a peek-a-boo of skin. Now, she’s going to a 60’s costume party after slaying a jungle cat.

 

 

MoschinoAlessandra.jpg
Look No.4

 

I really don’t need to say anything about this. I am LOVING seeing these seasoned veterans, like Alessandra Ambrosio, on the stage. Work it girlfriend.

 

(Um, but I do have to say that this outfit is like a little sample of all of the clothes from the collection and is delightfully tacky. It’s a yes from me *insert Simon from X-Factor here*)

 

 

MoschinoMatthew.jpg
Look No.11

Just because. You know why.

 

 

 

 

His name is Matthew Noszka. You’re welcome.

 

 

 

MoschinoGabriel.jpg
Look No. 18

Man, oh man, yes–this outfit WAS designed by Brittany Murphy’s character in Uptown Girls. This is her work, I’m sure of it.

 

This also reminds me of A Night At The Roxbury, but I can get behind it.

 

 

 

 

 

MoschinoJourdanDunn
Look No. 33

This is a look I could get behind. Model Jourdan Dunn should totally ask to keep this look, because it just works on her. I am loving the shiny sequins that make up this outfit. It adds a lovely touch to the all-black ensemble. The shoes, earrings, and purse add a nice dash of color due to small colored holes (on the purse and shoes) and the earrings are long hoop earrings that look as if they are embroidered.

 

Oooh, also, with the sequins creating a nice shine, they make the legs look longer because they draw the eyes all the way down as the follow the shine.

 

MoschinoAlice
Look No. 47

This look makes me happy. Honestly. I can’t look at this without smiling. It’s like a rainbow threw up on the fabric and this is the wonderful, beautiful result. It’s so funky. Rainbow, tie-dye, embroidery, the printed mod hat…is that Ganesh on her shirt with Moschino written above? Yup. It is. I want to go splash in puddles with those hot pink boots.

 

 

 

 

MoschinoMitchell.jpg
Look No. 59

This..this outfit is so much to take in. I love the colors, but it seems scattered and disorganized. I guess I am unsure of it because of the type of colors that are used..shades of neon. The hat is definitely cool, though I’m not sure it really suits this outfit. The hat seems better suited for a quieter outfit; this outfit needs that tall mod hat from Look No. 47 instead.

The cut is nice and it’s a very well-tailored piece of clothing, but I’m unsure. Either keep the lite-brite magic screen without the studs or flower decorations, or vice versa. It’s too busy with all of the decorations.

 

 

 

 

And that, ladies and gentlemen, was the latest collection of Moschino and creative director, Jeremy Scott. It’s a whole lot of crazy, wild, colorful, and animal print to keep your Resort Wear in the spotlight. It’s definitely eye-catching.

 

What do you think? Fab or drab?

Xoxo,

Olivia

Leave a comment