Looks Hot Right Now

I Really Thought I Was Somebody At The NOFW Ulta Beauty Party

The title says it all. Even though I was an intern for New Orleans Fashion Week, I got to attend one of our events as a local fashion blogger. Yes, I am famous now. (Just kidding.)
KendraScottbyMEgbert

Tuesday night of Season 6 of New Orleans Fashion Week was our VIP/ Patron Reception held at Kendra Scott. Ulta Beauty was the partner along with Kendra Scott, so I was certainly prepared for it to be a very fabulous night.

KendraScott

FWNolaKendraScott

 

Oh, but wait, I was supposed to work it. Eh, that’s alright, at least I’ll be there. This was what I thought.

FWNOLAOliviaandDanielleBut then, as I arrive, one of the interns asks for my name at the front desk. “Um, Olivia? O-l-i…” She stops me, saying I’m at the event as a fashion blogger. WAHOOOO! I’ve “made” it. Sort of. Not really, but this is still pretty cool. I got to wear a Mardi Gras bead necklace declaring my status.

The night got better from there. There was champagne. There was jewelry. And there was makeup. (There was also a “wall” for professional pictures but I’ll just stop there)

 

I popped on over to visit the representatives of Ulta Beauty to view the newest OPI collection, which was inspired by New Orleans. I was instantly drawn to a lovely purple shade that I said I’d buy when the shades were released for purchase. I mulled around until I noticed a row of bright pink and orange bags almost filled to the brim with goodies from Ulta.

I popped on over to visit the representatives of Ulta Beauty to view the newest OPI collection, which was inspired by New Orleans. I was instantly drawn to a lovely purple shade that I said I’d buy when the shades were released for purchase. I mulled around until I noticed a row of bright pink and orange bags almost filled to the brim with goodies from Ulta.

I. Wanted. That. Bag. But how?! I was just an intern, and the bags were for the bloggers and media who were invited to help promote the event and NOFW. I sulked for a few minutes, because quite frankly, I was really jealous.

FWNOLAULTABAGS

It was like the world changed because Anna Wintour cracked a smile. A revelation came into my life. One of the employees of NOFW informed me that I, yes little old nobody me, was getting a bag. Hello, I was a blogger there! That meant one bag was for me! (Cue the sounds of the heavenly angels singing.)

After the event started to wrap up, I was able to claim one of the Ulta bags as my own, and I went to take inventory of all my goodies. Honestly, I’ve never been as surprised from a goody bag as the one I got from Ulta. IT WAS AMAZING. Really amazing products from quality brands and just a mix of every little thing you think you may need—it wasn’t just makeup. It was one of the most well-crafted gift bags and I really thought that this was “making” it; Getting a goody bag cemented my status as a blogger. (This is totally me being sarcastic if that didn’t catch on. But I do mean everything about the goody bag. It was for real amazing.)

Now, don’t get too jealous when I discuss the contents of this bag sent from the Ulta Beauty gods.

Ultabeautybags

HAIR PRODUCTS

  • Soy Milk shampoo and conditioner set from HealthySexyHair, perfectly sized for traveling or on the go! What I love most about this set was how it is formulated for colored hair (like mine) and was reformulated with soy and cocoa to make healthy healthy and shiny without those crazy chemicals found in other brands.
  • Redken Frizz Dismiss fly-away fix finishing sheets. These sheets are great for the hot, humid weather in New Orleans. The box came with 50 sheets that can be used on ALL hair types just by smoothing hair with the sheets. The best part? It adds shine, too!
  • Redken One United Multi-Benefit Treatment. It is so, so important to take care of your hair and this product makes it easy. Wash, apply the spray, rinse out. Just takes two minutes! Healthy hair should be easy to maintain.
  • Kendra Platinum Dry Texture Spray. I’m really weird about sprays. They usually make my hair look frizzier or worse, so I tend to forgo using them. However, this product goes on finely; so my hair isn’t ending up being crunchy, but it isn’t so strong that my hair absorbs all the moisture from the spray. I actually just tried it again before I wrote this post. Still feels nice and my hair is ~texturized~.

FACE/SKIN PRODUCTS

  • Dermalogica Charcoal Rescue Masque. With ingredients like charcoal, volcanic ash, and bamboo extract, my skin better look so great that you can see its glow from space. Masques tend to make my acne worse by drawing the impurities out (you can never win with acne) and I get nervous using them. The charcoal rescue masque is gentle on my skin, but I only use it every one to two weeks. It brightens and exfoliates skin with cleaning it. Sounds good to me.
  • Ulta Sweet Bloom Shower Gel. Sometimes, the lazy get lazier. When it’s too bothersome to use bar soap in the shower, shower gel is your best bet. If you like products without parabens, gluten or phthalates, this is a great product for you. It’s a sweet scent that makes you feel dainty and delicate.
  • When Bio-Cellulose Sheet Face Masks in The Last Choice and Snow Magic. I’m always reading how about masks and peels are this generation’s best skin products for younger, brighter skin blah blah blah. I’m scornful because I’ve had acne since I was 12. But, it is nice to practice good skincare and use the products when I’m feeling brave. The Last Choice is a masque designed to hydrate dry, brittle skin. It’s like a glass of cold water for your skin. Snow Magic combats dull, dim looking skin by lightening skin up with a combination of moisturizing ingredients. Perfect for use after The Last Choice masque.

NAILS

  • OPI Nail Lacquer in Show Us Your Tips! This is not only my favorite color, but it is a collection inspired by New Orleans. It’s a beautiful lavender color mixed in with a hint of luminescence. I was drawn to this shade before I even knew it would be in my goody bag. I actually traded colors with a friend so I could get this color. Whatever works, right?
  • Ulta Beauty Nail Filer. Need I say more? We always need nail files, especially in our purses. Where do you think mine is?

PERFUME

  • Daisy by Marc Jacobs Eau De Toilette Spray. I love.love.love travel sized perfumes. They make traveling with perfumes perfect because I know they won’t break, spill, or leak. This scent is just heavenly. It’s light and airy with a hint of a sweet, floral smell. It’s great for the warm weather coming.

MAKEUP

  • Prismatic Luminous Eye Shadow Palette by Ulta. I was so surprised by this catch. It’s an AMAZING palette. The colors are great. I honestly didn’t think we’d get such a wonderfully curated palette, but this was great. There are 12 jewel-toned shades, ranging from “luminous”, a faint blue, to “prescence”, a rich wood-colored brown. I haven’t used it yet because it’s too pretty to start messing up the colors.
  • It Cosmetic Superhero Elastic Stretch Volumizing Mascara in Super Black. I like mascara. I like it a lot. I daresay it is one of my most used makeup products. So when I saw we’d been given the It Cosmetics Elastic Stretch Volumizing Mascara, I was head over heels. The box proclaims that 96% people saw stretched lashes, dramatic volume and length, and plumper looking lashes. Was I sold? Yes. In a sleek, black tube that is wider at the top and the bottom, the mascara is dispensed on a thick wand and gets every.single.lash.
  • Buxom Full-On Lip Polish. Remember when you wore lip plumping gloss in high school? I do. Remember when people started overlining lips to get the Kylie Jenner effect? I do. Ditch following the trend and bring back lip plumping! The shade is Kawani, a hot and glittery pink color that tingles on contact! That means it’s working, right?
  • Fiona Stiles Soft Cheek Veil in Maiden Lane. I’ve been a little too heavy on the contour train, and it’s time to go back to my roots by using a soft blush on my cheeks. Packaged in a small black compact with a mirror for perfect application, the color creates a nice pink glow on the apples of cheeks. I like it. Bring back the blush!
  • Tarte The Lip Sculptor Lipstick and Gloss in Basic. Don’t let the shade fool you. It isn’t basic. I really, really appreciate this product. However, I think the shade is too light for my skin. It’s beautiful, but my lips look like I caked concealer on them and called it a day. I like it SO much but I need to get some more color on my skin before it looks natural. Come summer, I’ll wear it again. P.S. Tarte is cruelty-free and free of any weird chemicals, which is great for skin!
  • It Cosmetics Makeup Brushes for Ulta – Live Beauty Fully Flawless Powder Brush #202. I’ve recently come to understand the importance of makeup brushes, well, really good makeup brushes. Using brushes for the right purpose was never my strength. I’ve been noticing my brush I used for my Anastasia contour kit was crap with a big C, and it was time to make the switch to a brush better suited to distributing powder evenly. Hello, powder brush from It/Ulta. Not only is it ultra soft, but the color application on my face is nice, even, and smooth. It looks so much better from the line my other brush was creating.Live Beauty Fully Flawless Powder Brush #202That sums it up. Wonderful products from a great company. If you’re interested in more depth reviews, feel free to leave a comment below. Remember to follow Ulta Beauty and New Orleans Fashion Week on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

 

Xoxo,

Olivia

 

(All party images courtesy of Michael Egbert and friends of New Orleans Fashion Week)

Leave a comment