What's In My Closet

It’s Time To Spring Clean Your Jeans Out Of Your Closet

“Quelle horror,” your 2009 self says while eyeing the numerous pairs of skinny jeans in dark denim, grey and black sitting in your closet that are still in use.

Yup, that’s right. Skinny jeans have been declared as “out” by the Fashion Gods. I know. I almost had an audible gasp when I read the headline when I got the email sent by Vogue. I’m not too surprised. I think this has been a long time coming. Skinny jeans were great for your late 2000s self, but now, it’s time to evolve your fashion sense.

Don’t get me wrong. The pairs of jeans I own are all labeled as skinny—they look okay (but are far too long for my 5’3 frame and leave excess fabric at my ankles) and have been great to me–here’s looking at you, BDG jeans—but it’s time to move on.

I try to save jeans exclusively for late fall and winter. It stays warm here until late November, so I can get away with skirts, dresses, or anything that isn’t jeans until then simply because jeans aren’t necessary yet. They lose the personality and uniqueness of an outfit instantly because they’re a staple everyone has in their wardrobe. They look the same, always, save for the color, and there isn’t much you can do to dress them up. They’re good for one reason–it gets cold—and I try to save them exclusively for that reason. The other parts of the year they hang in my closet. I’m glad the Fashion Gods have banished jeans from our 2016 style guide.

With the return of the 1970s fashion trends seen in 2015, I knew that the Fashion Gods were vying to get away from jeans. With the return of culottes,tailored trousers and wide-leg pants, it seemed that the trends of 2016 would embrace those styles. Skinny jeans didn’t fit the mold. Like I said in the previous paragraph, they are shapeless and can alter the female silhouette to some unidentifiable blob. It’s time to toss them in the trash and invest in some good pants that are flattering on your shape.

I’ve found some great alternatives if you’re ready to part with your jeans because I know I am. Some of the companies who have great tailored trousers (the look I’m into right now) are J Crew, Topshop, and French Connection UK. There are a few others, but I’ve been browsing their sites often in search of some good new pants that offer more versatility than jeans. I’m not quite ready to embrace bell-bottoms.

*I will add a disclaimer: the pants have been around $50, which is more pricey than I’d like to pay, but the pants are of a good material and quality, so it seems in investment for my future wardrobe. *

I ordered two pairs, one from J Crew and another from Topshop. J Crew was having a decent sale, and I mean that lightly because it wasn’t very decent on my wallet.

I ordered the Petite Patio Pant in Bi-Stretch Wool seen here in Neon Orchid because I really couldn’t say no to my favorite color in pants. Yeahyeahyeah J Crew is pricey but I like that they offer petite sizes for lil’ short girls like me. I’m really feeling how the pants are cropped at the ankle so that you can wear strappy heels with them, but they are also professional enough for a work environment. They aren’t as wide as culottes or bell-bottoms, so I feel safe to wear them for now. Plus, because they end above the feet, you can really use your shoes as a statement piece. The main point? They are nice, tailored pants for the young adult woman I think I am.

 

The other pair of pants I ordered with the Petite Peg Leg Belted Trousers from Topshop. If you’re interested, check them out on their website. I like their narrow, slim style and I am eager to see if I can even fit in the size I ordered, but that’s another story. Though they are just another pair of classic trousers–they have added a modern touch with the tie belt and a high-waist. The pants stop right at or above the ankle (most likely ankle, due to my height) so it’s perfect for sneakers or heels. I think the light pink color adds the feminine touch, so sneakers are a perfect way to tie the outfit together. The main point? They are girly, fun pants that are a good option to use in your wardrobe that aren’t blue jeans.

When I get the pants in, I’ll make sure to write an updated post with pictures. I’m ready to make the transition to pants that aren’t jeans. I think it’s important to do a little spring cleaning to your wardrobe.

Are you ready to say au revoir to your jeans?

 

Xoxo,

Olivia

 

Leave a comment